World Cup 2011 – Indian Team

January 17th, 2011  |  Published in Cricket, ICC World Cup 2011

Barring few selection surprises – exclusion of Rohit Sharma (specialist batsmen) and inclusion of Piyush Chawal as third specialist spinner in 15-man World Cup squad announced in Chennai. Selectors came up with the squad keeping in perspective that World Cup will be played in Asian Sub-continent. Piyush Chawla was a bigger surprise though is part of the one-day squad currently touring South Africa. He hasn’t played any one-dayers for India since the Asia Cup in July, 2008 and none of his 21odis have been at home. While Rohit Sharma’s past record and his recent performances in South Africa might have made it easy for Selectors to make decision.

Other 13 players in the team were on the expected lines. India’s major concern ahead of the team selection was the injuries to four first-choice players – Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and quick bowler Praveen Kumar, but selectors were confident of their fitness and all four have been picked.

From my points of view it has exuberance of youth, experience of seniors and is a perfect combination to represent India in the World Cup in Subcontinent starting 19th February, 2010.

Indian Squad – World Cup 2011

Mahendra Singh Dhoni – (Captain and Wicketkeeper),  Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh,

Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel, Piyush Chawla, R Ashwin


Get articles in your inbox.

Enter your email address:

Join Us

Twitter Chatter